Chinese Language and Culture Fund

Print
Email

Chinese Language and Culture Fund (CLCF) was first proposed by Mr Wee Cho Yaw, then President of Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations during a congratulatory dinner held to celebrate Mr Lee Hsien Loong becoming our Prime Minister.  

During the dinner, Mr Wee announced that, Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations and Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce & Industry would be setting up a Chinese Languague & Culture Fund to complement the change in policies for teaching Chinese language in order to promote the development of Chinese Language and Culture. The two organisations would set a fund-raising target of ten million dollars, with the government supporting the fund with a dollar to dollar matching grant.

To date, the CLCF has raised a total of 14 million dollars which includes a 7-million grant from the government.

On 1st March 2006, CLCF announced a set of rules and regulations governing the use of its funds, and all Singapore registered societies, companies, cultural and educational organisations were invited to submit their requests for financial support. All applications must be in alignment with the nation's educational and cultural policies to raise the standards of Chinese language and promote Chinese culture. Furthermore, activities must have creative elements and should benefit a significant group of people.  

Currently, there are two committees set up to facilitate the funding process. The Management Committee is responsible for auditing and approving the applications while the Selection Committee assists the Management Committee by handling applications and recommend selected programmes.

Back to top

缘起

打印
轉寄好友

该基金是由宗乡总会主席黄祖耀先生于2004年10月19日,在祝贺李显龙接任我国总理的晚宴上提议成立的,目的是协助国人全面提升华文水平。 

主席黄祖耀在晚宴上宣布,为了配合政府最近实行的一系列改华文教学的措施,宗乡总会和中华总商会将设立一个华社语言基金,来推动中华语言和文化的发展。于是两大机构设立了一个一千万元的筹款目标,过后政府也宣布以一元对一元的赞助方式支持基金的设立。 

该基金已筹得700多万元,加上政府以一元对一元的资助,基金目前拥有1400多万元。

2006年3月1日,委员会召开记者会,申请详情正式对外公布,并公开接受公众的申请。凡有意提升华文的本国注册的社团、注册公司、文化与教育机构,所申请的项目不仅符合我国的教育文化政策,并有助于提升华文水平及弘扬华族文化,而且活动具有创意和深广的影响,能够使众多人受益,都将会获得资金援助。

目前,中华语言文化基金设立管理委员会负责基金的管理和申批工作。此外,管理委员会属下也附设遴选小组,负责审查所有提呈资助的申请项目事宜。

返回页顶