“Accumulated Distrust: An Archival Analysis of the Diplomatic Tussle between Britain and China (1877-1900)” Seminar

Print
Email

Organised by the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA), and co-organised by Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre, “Accumulated Distrust: An Archival Analysis of the Diplomatic Tussle between Britain and China (1877-1900)” Seminar took place at Zhong Sheng Jian Recital Studio in Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Sunday, 26 August. The seminar attracted over 100 attendees.

 

The seminar focused on the topic of Sino-British diplomacy.

The invited speaker was Mr. Gao Jian Kang, research officer at the ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute. He shared about the arduous process the late Qing government went through in 1877 to set up the first consulate in Southeast Asia, as well as the conflict between the Qing consulate in Singapore and the colonial government.

 

Speaker Gao Jian Kang explained the difficulties the Qing government faced when setting up consulates in Southeast Asia.

Mr. Gao Jian Kang was a history major in Peking University before he went on to obtain a Master’s degree for Modern Southeast Asian Studies in Cambridge University. His research include the past and present relations between China and Southeast Asia, as well as the Southeast Asian Chinese communities. During the seminar, he showcased and analysed the original documents currently kept in The National Archives of the UK and The First Historical Archives of China. The documents included the British Colonial Office’s report on the Qing consulate in Singapore, official documents sent by the colonial government to the consulate.

 

Rare historical documents were showcased in the seminar, and amazed the audience.

 

The Q&A session was very interactive as the audience participated actively and asked many questions. 

The seminar also invited Mr. Kua Bak Lim (SFCCA Research Committee Chairman) who shared his perspectives on Sino-British diplomacy. He also expressed his joy in seeing many young audience, and hoped that more of the younger generation will be interested in academic lectures to discuss history.

 

Group photo (Left to right): Emcee Shuya Wang, SCCC CEO Low Sze Wee, SFCCA Research Committee Chairman Kua Bak Lim, Speaker Gao Jian Kang and Moderator Wilson Shen.

 

 

 

Back to top

《信任危机:伦敦档案所见中英在南洋之外交博弈(1877-1900)》讲座

打印
轉寄好友

由宗乡总会学术委员会主办,新加坡华族文化中心联办的“信任危机:伦敦档案所见中英在南洋之外交博弈(1877-1900)”讲座,于周日(826)下午2时,在新加坡华族文化中心钟声坚演奏室开讲,吸引了100多名民众出席。

 

学术讲座以中英外交博弈为题,吸引了百多名民众的踊跃参与】

本次讲座邀请了来自尤索夫伊萨东南亚研究院(ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute)区域安全与政治研究中心助理研究员高健康先生,与民众一起探讨晚清政府于1877年在南洋设立首个领事馆的曲折过程,以及当时清廷驻新加坡领事与殖民地政府的争执。

 

主讲人高健康根据所做的研究,讲解了晚清政府在南洋设立领事馆的曲折过程】

高健康曾获北京大学历史系学士学位、剑桥大学东亚系硕士学位,主要研究包括中国与东南亚早期交往史与当代关系,以及东南亚海外华人社群。他在讲座中分析了英国国家档案馆与中国第一历史档案馆所藏原始文献,同时展示了一些罕见的中英文档,包括英国殖民部对于清廷在新加坡设立领事馆的报告、殖民地政府发给中国驻新领事的公文等,让出席者们大开眼界。

 

讲座中也展示了罕见的历史文件档案,让出席者们获益不浅】

 

观众在交流环节中踊跃发问,对这项外交博弈有了更深认识】

活动也邀请了宗乡总会学术委员会主任柯木林先生作为点评嘉宾。除了发表对于这项中英外交博弈的独特见解,柯木林对于讲座吸引了一众年轻人的参与而感到欣慰,并希望接下来的学术讲座能吸引更多年轻一辈探讨历史。

 

活动结束后,主办及联办单位代表合影,左起为讲座司仪王书雅、新加坡华族文化中心总裁刘思伟、宗乡总会学术委员会主任柯木林、主讲人高健康及讲座主席沈斯涵】

 

 

 

返回页顶