The History of Clan Associations in Singapore

Print
Email

In the early 19th century, waves of Chinese immigrants arrived in Singapore, in a bid to escape the extreme poverty back in their home villages. Feeling isolated and homesick in an alien environment, the immigrants banded together to help new arrivals with accommodation and employment. Eventually, their early efforts to foster unity and kinship gave rise to the formation of clan associations, based on locality or kinship (surname). 

Since the founding of the Cho Kah Koon in 1819, more than 300 locality and surname clan associations have been registered with the Registrar of Societies.  Locality clan associations are classified into four major groupings: Fujian, Guangdong, Hainan and Sanjiang.  The clan associations under Guangdong grouping are more complex. If grouped along dialect lines, there are Cantonese, Hakka, Teochew and Cantonese/Hakka (this last group admits members who speak the two dialects). Kinship clan associations are formed by clansmen sharing a single surname or clansmen with different but related family names.  A minority of clan associations are also formed based on different trades.

As clan associations grew and prospered, their reach extended beyond assisting clan members in their daily lives and needs, and into social efforts like setting up schools, hospitals and driving charity efforts.  The prosperity of the Chinese community would not have been the same without the early clan associations’ contributions in so many arenas and the preservation of their values remain integral to the development of our society as a whole.

As Singapore develops into a first world nation, the role of clan associations is slowly but surely being redefined. What started out as associations formed to feed the basic needs of the Chinese immigrant community is slowly transcending into a higher purpose: the preservation of our rich Chinese heritage. Apart from holding cultural activities and traditional festival celebrations, much effort is also expended in the promotion of Chinese language. Some clan associations even organize inter-country events, to promote international cooperation and awareness.

Renewal is a crucial factor in ensuring that clan associations continue to thrive in Singapore. Thus, it is crucial for clan associations to constantly update and reinvent themselves to stay relevant and attract new members, especially youths and new immigrants.

Back to top

会馆的历史与发展

打印
轉寄好友

19世纪,大量的中国移民飘洋过海南来新加坡讨生活,促使各个籍贯的宗乡会馆应运而生,将华人移民凝聚起来,提供他们住所,解决就业的问题,给他们温暖和力量。

新加坡第一间会馆曹家馆于1819年成立,迄今在本地注册的会馆超过300间。会馆主要以地缘和血缘来划分,地缘性会馆或称乡亲会馆,是按照地域分类,分为福建属、广属、海南属及三江属团体。广属组织较为复杂,内部以方言群区分,分为粤语方言、客家方言、潮州方言以及广客帮方言组织;而血缘性会馆或称宗亲会馆,则是按照姓氏分类,除了单一的姓氏会馆外,也有不少的联宗(姓氏)团体。此外,还有少数的业缘性会馆,按照不同行业来分类。

这些团体除了给予同乡们生活上的援助,还设立学校和医院,推动慈善福利,为华人社群作出巨大的贡献。如果没有早期会馆的设立,就不会有今天繁荣稳健的华族社群。因此,会馆的精神是我国社会发展的重要资产。这种精神世代相传,今天依然存在。

随着我国独立后,政府高效英明,取代了宗乡会馆原有的功能。宗乡会馆因此转换角色,肩负起了传承文化和传统的使命,除了举办各种文化活动、节日庆典、艺术演出之外,也积极推动华语华文。此外,一些会馆也通过举办国际性的活动项目,联系情谊的同时,也促进国内外的交流和合作。

会馆的薪火传承,是每个宗乡团体面临的最大挑战。为了让会馆代代延续,许多会馆也主办活动以吸引年轻一代参与,并开放接纳新移民加入。

返回页顶