Opening Launch of “New World, New Life” Exhibition

Print
Email

Curated by Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) , around 200 invited guests were present at the opening launch of “New World, New Life” Exhibition. Minister of Education, Mr Ong Ye Kung officiated the opening launch at Ho Bee Concourse at Level 1 of Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre.  


The exhibition, supported by Lee Kuan Yew Fund for Bilingualism, Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre, Committee to Promote Chinese Language Learning and Singapore Bicentennial Office, is also the biggest and longest multi-sensory exhibition ever held in 33 years of SFCCA’s history.

 

The exhibition content that spans across two centuries with a rich collection of exhibits on display, including a medical book from the Guangxu Year of the Qing Dynasty, digital copies of the earliest primer in Singapore National Library’s collection, as well as school badges, student handbooks, commemorative albums and graduation certificates used in the 1950s by the various schools set up by clan associations.

Curated to commemorate Singapore Bicentennial in 2019 and pay homage to our forefathers, the 260-square-meter-exhibition will be open daily from 11.30am to 6.00pm to the public starting from 19 November 2018 until 28 April 2019 at the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Level 1 Ho Bee Concourse. Between January to April next year, 106 trained youth ambassadors will also be offering guided tours for Secondary 1 and 2 students to explore the life of these early Chinese immigrants. 

The “New World, New Life” exhibition is the first project under SFCCA’s “Unsung Heroes” Series, which aims to pay tribute to the forefathers of Singapore and strives to shape Singapore’s youth to become the “Unsung Heroes” of tomorrow. With an exciting line-up of programmes featuring heritage trails and theatrical performance ready to launch next year, Singaporeans can look forward to an immersive experience of reflecting on the contributions of our founding forefathers.

 

Back to top

“无名英雄”系列之《落地生根,开拓新家园》展览开幕

打印
轉寄好友

由新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会主办的《落地生根,开拓新家园》展览,在200多位受邀嘉宾的见证下,由教育部长王乙康先生在新加坡华族文化中心一楼和美广场主持开幕。

 
这项由李光耀双语基金、新加坡华族文化中心、推广华文学习委员会以及新加坡开埠两百年工作组支持的展览,同时也是宗乡总会成立33年以来历时最长、规模最大的展览之一。这也是宗乡总会首次透过多元感官体验的方式,把历史呈现给访客。

 

展览也展出罕见的历史书籍,包括来自清朝光绪年的医书《增广灵验验方新编》、新加坡图书馆现存最早的启蒙读本《千字文》的电子版本,以及1950年代由会馆创办的学校校徽、学生手册、纪念册和毕业证书等。

展览将从1119起至2019428,每日上午1130分至傍晚6,在新加坡华族文化中心一楼的和美广场免费开放予公众参观。宗乡总会也培训了106名学生导览员,在明年1月至4期间带领中一和中二的学生探索华人南下的旅程。 

《落地生根,开拓新家园》是宗乡总会为配合明年新加坡开埠两百周年,推出无名英雄系列的首个项目,借此向我国先辈致敬,并培养年轻国人成为明日的无名英雄。宗乡总会明年还会推出文化之旅、舞台剧等一系列的精彩项目,让大家深入了解开埠先贤为新加坡作出的贡献。


返回页顶