Project C.A.R.E. 2019

Print
Email

Project C.A.R.E 2019 – Kite-flying with the Elderly at Marina Barrage

Jointly organised by Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) and Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC), Project C.A.R.E. (Caring And Reaching out to the Elderly) 2019 took place on 14th April, Sunday. A total of 620 elderly residents from 7 VWOs enjoyed themselves thoroughly, flying kites at the Marina Barrage and playing carnival games before adjourning for a lunch reception specially arranged for them by 9 Chinese clans. There were also entertaining cultural performances put up by the volunteers.

 

Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry & Ministry of Education Mr Chee Hong Tat attended the event and in his capacity as a member of the CDAC board of directors, he interacted with the elderly as he joined them in the kite-flying at Marina Barrage. Participants wrote down their dreams and wishes on the kites which were then flown high up in the sky as a symbol of good luck. Over at the Marina Barrage, there were other fringe activities – such as massage service, stage performances and savouring traditional snacks – to provide the elderly with a truly fun and unforgettable day out.


Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry & Ministry of Education Mr Chee Hong Tat (third from left) also experienced the joy of kite-flying


Volunteers flying kites with the senior citizens

Following which, the elderly enjoyed a sumptuous lunch reception which was hosted at nine of SFCCA's clans' premises. The nine participating clans were Singapore Hainan Hwee Kuan, Singapore Hui Ann Association, Singapore Lee Clan General Association, Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan, An Hai Association, Singapore Jin Hoe Lian Ghee Sia, Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan, Singapore Lam Ann Association and Singapore Ji Yang Cai Clan Association.

Besides recruiting a big pool of volunteers to take care of and bring joy to the elderly, each of the 9 participating clans prepared a variety of spectacular performances to entertain the elderly. The performances included belly dancing, qipao fashion show, magic show, etc.


The participating clans specially arranged programmes to put a smile on the elderly's faces on a bright, cheery Sunday

Into its seventh year now, SFCCA and CDAC have been organising Project C.A.R.E. since 2013, to benefit needy senior citizens, encourage the Chinese community to contribute back to the society and to impart to the youth the importance of showing respect towards their seniors. On an annual basis, this project has seen increase in not just the beneficiaries but also the volunteers. The organisers hope to recruit more volunteers to host the 1000 elderly which they intend to invite to next year's edition of Project C.A.R.E.

Back to top

宗乡总会和华助会联办“关怀乐龄2019”,与年长者在滨海堤坝放风筝欢度周末

打印
轉寄好友

宗乡总会和华助会联办“关怀乐龄2019”,与年长者在滨海堤坝放风筝欢度周末

由宗乡总会及华社自助理事会(华助会)联合举办的“关怀乐龄2019”,于414日(星期日)带领了7个乐龄组织的620名年长者到新加坡滨海堤坝(Marina Barrage)进行放风筝活动,之后还享用了会馆安排的美味午餐和欣赏娱兴节目,陪伴年长者度过了温馨愉快的周末。


贸工部兼教育部高级政务部长徐芳达出席了这场活动,身兼华助会董事会委员的他也在滨海堤坝参与了放风筝的环节,与乐龄人士交流。参与者也在风筝上写下愿望,把风筝放飞升高,祈求愿望实现。现场还有其他周边活动如按摩服务、舞台表演和传统小吃等,让参与者不亦乐乎。


贸工部兼教育部高级政务部长徐芳达(左三)也体验了放风筝的乐趣


义工陪同乐龄人士放风筝


随后,年长者们也被分配到宗乡总会属下的九间会馆,并由他们安排午宴款待乐龄人士。参加“关怀乐龄2019”的会馆包括新加坡海南会馆、新加坡惠安公会、新加坡李氏总会、新加坡晋江会馆、新加坡安海公会、新加坡仁和联谊社、新加坡潮州八邑会馆、新加坡南安会馆和新加坡济阳蔡氏公会。


各会馆也准备了一系列的精彩节目如肚皮舞表演、旗袍秀、魔术表演和乐器演奏等,同时也招募了多名义工招待年长者,为他们送暖。



参与活动的会馆团体安排了娱兴节目,与年长者欢度周末



宗乡总会与华助会自2013年起合作举办“关怀乐龄”活动,旨在帮助来自低收入群体的年长者、鼓励华社回馈社会,以及向年轻人传递尊老敬贤的价值观。活动举办至今,受惠的年长者和参与的义工人数都在增长,因此主办单位计划在明年招募更多义工,并邀请1000名乐龄人士参与。

返回页顶