2017/18 "Clan of the Year Award"

Print
Email

Winners for 2017/18 "Clan of the Year" Announced, Five Clans Awarded Honours

 

The "Clan of the Year Award" 2017/18 and 2nd "SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award" ceremony cum dinner, organised by the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA), was held at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. The awardees were announced, and 13 out of 31 member organisations competing for the awards emerged victorious, receiving awards from Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry & Ministry of Education Mr Chee Hong Tat.

 

Entering its 7th year, this year's "Clan of the Year Award" was the most widely awarded edition. As more and more clan associations are showing outstanding performance in various aspects in recent years, besides the five team awards, three more "Encouragement Awards"were also added in recognition of their efforts.

 

The winners of the "Clan of the Year Award" are the Singapore Eng Teng Association, the Singapore Char Yong Association, the Singapore Lam Ann Association, the Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan, and the Singapore Bukit Panjang Hokkien Konghuay. The winners managed to break the stereotype that clan associations are dull and boring, by going to the community through schools, grassroots organisations and/or art organisations during their anniversary celebrations. They promoted traditional culture, donated to charity groups or promoted arts and culture, which was well received by the jury.

 

"Clan of the Year Award" winners with the Guest-of-Honour, from left to right: Singapore Lam Ann Association Vice-President Mr Lee Jia Hong, Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan President Mr Pok Cheng Chong, Singapore Bukit Panjang Hokkien Konghuay Vice-President Mr Soh Wen Tong, jury chairman Professor Eddie Kuo, Guest-of-honour Senior Minister of State Chee Hong Tat, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Singapore Char Yong Association President Ho Siong Hin, and Singapore Eng Teng Association President Chan Sen Meng

  

In addition, the Nanyang Fang Shee Association, Jiangsu Association (Singapore), the Singapore Amoy Association, Yen Leng Goh Clan, and Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan were awarded the "Special Award for Excellence". From launching courses to publicising classical ancient works, bringing creativity into activities, and actively promoting public welfare activities, these clan associations made were remarkable at organising events and community services. The organiser also awarded the "Encouragement Award" for the first time, to the Kowloon Club Singapore, the Singapore Choo Clan Association and the Singapore Teo Chew Federation, in recognition of their outstanding work in caring for vulnerable groups and promoting traditional culture.

 

"Special Award for Excellence" winners received their trophies from Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat (fourth from right), left to right: Yen Leng Goh Clan President Mr Woo Chee Chay, Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan President Mr Chan Kian Kuan, Singapore Amoy Association President Mr Lin Xilai, jury chairman Professor Eddie Kuo, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Nanyang Fang Shee Association Fang Yongquan, Jiangsu Association President Zhou Yaocheng

 "Encouragement Award" winners with the guest-of-honour, from left to right: Singapore Choo Clan Association President Mr Zhu Yaoqun, Teo Chew Federation President Mr Lin Guoyou, Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Kowloon Club President Mr Chan Man Ping

 

Three Rising Stars Discovered in the Second "SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award"

The "SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award" was also presented at the ceremony. Wen Weixiong from Chung Shan Association (Singapore), Ng Ziyang from the Huang Clan, and Huang Liang from the Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan left a deep impression on the jury by displaying positive traditional values, darning to think bold and creatively, as well as by making good use of technology.

 


After Huang Liang from the Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan (first from left), Ng Ziyang from the Huang Clan (second from left), and Wen Weixiong from Chung Shan Association (Singapore) (first from right) were awarded the “Outstanding Youth Award”, they took a picture with SFCCA Treasurer and youth award jury chairman Mr Ng Siew Quan (third from left), Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat (fourth from left), SFCCA President Mr Tan Aik Hock (second from right)

 

In his speech, Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat mentioned that traditions and new trends need not always be at odds with each other, as a combination of the two can stimulate creativity and create innovative practices, and provide motivation for progress. He believes that some clan associations have already carried out drastic reforms, and their management model has kept pace with the times.

 

SFCCA President Mr Tan Aik Hock also encouraged the clan associations to continue to keep pace with the times, improve their management systems, regularly update association regulations, adjust financial management, improve operation content, uphold the selfless spirit of ancestors, and safeguard the reputation of Chinese societal associations. He also suggested that everyone should actively preserve historical materials of clan associations, in order to better pass on traditions to the next generation.


SFCCA established the "Clan of the Year Award" in 2011 to encourage clan associations to promote Chinese culture and actively explore new opportunities. Over the years, it has received enthusiastic response from all SFCCA member groups. SFCCA has awarded close to 70  "Clan of the Year Award" and "Special Award for Excellence". In 2016, SFCCA established the "SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award" to expand the scope of the awards, commend young people who have made outstanding achievements in clan associations, and to discover more rising stars for the Chinese society.

Back to top

2017/18年 "杰出会馆奖"

打印
轉寄好友

2017/18年“杰出会馆奖”名单出炉,5家会馆获得殊荣

 

由新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会(简称“宗乡总会”)主办的2017/18“杰出会馆奖”暨第二届“宗乡杰青奖”,在新加坡国敦河畔大酒店举办的颁奖典礼暨晚宴上揭晓了获奖成绩。31个角逐奖项的会员团体中共有13间会馆脱颖而出,并获得贸工部兼教育部高级政务部长徐芳达先生颁发奖座。

 

迈入第七届的“杰出会馆奖”是历年来颁发最多奖项的一届。基于近年来越来越多会馆在各方面都有优异的表现,本次的“杰出会馆奖”和“优秀会馆奖”分别有5个获奖团体,另外也增设“激励奖”颁发给3个会馆,以示表扬。

 

“杰出会馆奖”的获奖团体分别为新加坡永定会馆、新加坡茶阳(大埔)会馆、新加坡南安会馆、新加坡晋江会馆和新加坡武吉班让福建公会,他们打破了宗乡团体予人暮气沉沉的形象,在举办精彩周年会庆的同时,走入社区跟学校、基层组织或是艺术团体联办活动,弘扬传统文化、捐助公益团体或推广艺术文化,深受评审团好评。

 

“杰出会馆奖”得主与主宾合影,左起:南安会馆副会长李家宏、晋江会馆会长卜清鍾、武吉班让福建公会副主席苏汶通、评审团主席郭振羽教授、主宾徐芳达高级政务部长、宗乡总会会长陈奕福、茶阳(大埔)会馆会长何祥兴,以及永定会馆会长曾宪民

 

另外,南洋方氏总会、新加坡江苏会、新加坡厦门公会、新加坡延陵吴氏总会和新加坡潮州八邑会馆则摘下“优秀会馆奖”,从开办课程宣扬经典古籍、在活动中发挥创意融入多种元素、到积极推动公益活动等,在会务和社区服务方面的贡献各显千秋。主办单位也首次颁发“激励奖”给九龙会、新加坡朱氏公会及新加坡潮州西河公会,以表扬他们在关怀弱势群体,以及弘扬传统文化方面有着亮眼的表现。

 

“优秀会馆奖”得主从徐芳达高级政务部长(右四)手中接过奖座,左起为延陵吴氏总会会长吴佶财、潮州八邑会馆会长曾建权、厦门公会会长林熙涞、评审团主席郭振羽教授、宗乡总会会长陈奕福、南洋方氏总会主席方永泉、江苏会会长周兆成

 

“激励奖”得主与主宾合影,左起:朱氏公会会长朱耀群、潮州西河公会会长林国友、徐芳达高级政务部长、宗乡总会会长陈奕福、九龙会会长陈文平

 

第二届宗乡杰青奖发掘3名后起之秀

 

除此之外,同场亦颁发了“宗乡杰青奖”,来自中山会馆的温伟雄、新加坡黄氏总会的黄子洋以及新加坡潮州八邑会馆的黄亮,他们凭借着展现优良传统价值观的正面特质,还有勇于实践创新思维和善用新科技辅助等,让评审团留下深刻印象,因而勇夺本届“宗乡杰青奖”。

 

来自潮州八邑会馆的黄亮(左一)、黄氏总会的黄子洋(左二)及中山会馆的温伟雄(右一)获得“宗乡杰青奖”后,与宗乡总会财政兼杰青奖评审团主席吴绍均(左三)、主宾徐芳达高级政务部长(左四)、宗乡总会会长陈奕福(右二)合影。

 

徐芳达高级政务部长在致辞时表示,传统与新潮不一定是冲突或对立的,两者的结合有时能激发创新的做法和前进的动力,他认为有些会馆已进行了大刀阔斧的改革,其会务管理模式已跟上时代脚步。

 

宗乡总会会长陈奕福也勉励各宗乡团体继续与时俱进,设定更完善的管理机制,定时更新章程,调整财务管理,改善运作内容,秉持先辈无私的大我精神,维护华人社团的名誉。他也建议大家积极保存会馆的历史资料收藏,以便更好地传承给我们的下一代。

 

宗乡总会于2011年设立“杰出会馆奖”,鼓励会馆弘扬华族文化并积极拓展新契机,历年来皆获得属下会员团体的热烈响应。主办单位现已颁发了70“杰出会馆奖”和“优秀会馆奖”。宗乡总会在2016年创立“宗乡杰青奖”,扩大奖项范围,表彰在宗乡领域获得卓越成就的年轻人,为华社发掘更多后起之秀。

返回页顶