Duan Wu Carnival 2019

Print
Email

Duan Wu Carnival 2019

 

With the approach of the Duan Wu Festival, Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Association (SFCCA), together with Singapore Chinese Cultural Clan (SCCC) and Toa Payoh Central Community Club, organized "Duan Wu Carnival 2019" which was held on 1st June 2019 at Amphitheatre in front of Toa Payoh Community Library. Mrs Josephine Teo, Minister for Manpower and Second Minister for Home Affairs, was also invited to celebrate the Duan Wu festival with the rest of the community.

  

To honour the affection towards our nation and ethnic heritage while celebrating the duanwu jie, the Duan Wu Carnival was held annually over the past 9 years. The event incorporates unique local characteristics through traditional cuisines, cultural performances and games, attracting people from all works of life. President of SFCC, Mr Tan Aik Hock said that, “In the context of modern society, if traditional festivals are to be passed down and developed, they must be innovative and keep pace with time”. Hence, since 2011, the organisers have introduced the celebration of duanwu jie to the community, incorporating local characteristics in the form of a new carnival, hoping to unite the community and enhance mutual understanding among the communities. 

 

President Tan also mentioned that SFCCA would carry out a series of activities following the theme "Warming, Inheriting, Innovating" in celebration of the 35th anniversary in 2020, promoting Singapore’s ethnic heritage in an innovative way.

 

President Tan Aik Hock announcing that SFCCA would be carrying out a series of activities following the theme “Warming, Inheriting, Innovative”.

 

An important festival of local ethnic Chinese attracted people from different ethnic groups to attend.

 

As for the carnival this year, various new items were introduced which attracted the participation of various ethnicities.  Tying in with the commemoration of Singapore’s bicentenary, a specially commissioned performance with close to 100 performers of different ethnicities was featured where the crowd was invited to participate alongside them in an energetic drum performance that totals 200 people, exemplifying the unity of the different ethnic groups within Singapore.

 





Drum performance featuring performers from different ethnic groups and the crowd.

 

A condensed version of the “New World, New Life” exhibition was also brought to the carnival grounds, offering visitors a glimpse of the life of our pioneers as they settle down and start their new lives in Nanyang, which would give them a better understanding of Singapore’s history.


 





Drum performance featuring performers from different ethnic groups and the crowd.

 

A condensed version of the “New World, New Life” exhibition was also brought to the carnival grounds, offering visitors a glimpse of the life of our pioneers as they settle down and start their new lives in Nanyang, which would give them a better understanding of Singapore’s history.

 

 

Mrs Josephine Teo (Second from the left), with the accompany of Mr Chua Thian Poh, Honorary President of SFCCA and Chairman of SCCC (First from the left) and Mr Tan Aik Hock, President of SFCCA, visited the condensed version of “New World, New Life” exhibition.  Lin Mei Mei (Second from the right) was the guide for the exhibition.

 

The highlight of the carnival was the land dragon boat competition, attracting enthusiastic participation from the crowd where 20 teams consisting of members from SFCCA and other organisations competed for the title. After much anticipation and excitement, representatives from Lecharity-Singapore emerged as the champion, with Eng Choon Huay Kuan Singapore claiming second and Singapore Lee Clan General Association claiming third.   

 

Participants running towards the end point with all their might.

 

 

Lecharity-Singapore claiming the first prize of the land dragon boat competition as the participants took over the trophy from Mr Li Shu Bin (First row first on the right), Chairman of Toa Payoh Central Community Club Management Committee.

 

 

After claiming the second prize, members of Eng Choon Huay Kuan Singapore gather together on the stage to celebrate their winning.

 

 

The third prize of the land dragon boat competition was presented to Singapore Lee Clan General Association.  

 

Due to the popular demand of the land dragon boat competition, the organisers have also decided to host a competition for the young ones this year, hoping that they can learn more about teamwork and tradition through this fun competition.

 

 

Mrs Josephine Teo starting the land dragon boat competition for youths.

 

The organisers also incorporated technology elements into the carnival such as duanwu jie online games, real-time photo sharing, bringing across a variety of fun and engaging games for the crowd and allowed youngsters to learn more about ethnic heritage. Other featured items include sales of traditional food and on-the-spot art competition which had successfully caught the attention of the participants as well.

Back to top

2019年端午节嘉年华

打印
轉寄好友

2019年端午节嘉年华:赋予传统节日新意义,打造本土特色社区活动

 

端午将至,粽子飘香。由新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会、新加坡华族文化中心及大巴窑中民众俱乐部联合举办的2019年端午节嘉年华,于61日在大巴窑图书馆前广场热闹登场。人力部长兼内政部第二部长杨莉明女士受邀担任活动主宾,与民众提早庆祝端午节。

 

为弘扬爱国精神及华族优良传统价值观,主办单位已连续九年在邻里举办端午节嘉年华。这个节庆活动融入了独特的本土特色,透过大家熟悉的传统美食、文化表演、趣味游戏等,年年吸引不同族群人士一同欢庆华族传统佳节。宗乡总会会长陈奕福先生在致辞时表示,在现代社会若传统节日要得到传承和发展,就必须有所创新,与时俱进。因此,主办单位自2011年开始将端午节的庆祝活动带入社区,以崭新的嘉年华形式打造具有本土特色的节庆活动,希望借此凝聚社区,增进族群间的相互了解。

 

陈会长也表示,宗乡总会将本着再续传统的精神,以温故·传承·创新为明年35周年庆的主题,举办一系列的活动项目,以创新的方式弘扬传统文化。

 


陈奕福会长宣布,宗乡总会将在明年推出以“温故·传承·创新”为主题的系列活动

 

华族传统节日吸引各族群人士参与

 

今年的嘉年华增添了不少新的项目,并成功吸引了各族群人士的参与。配合新加坡开埠200周年,主办单位特别召集近100位来自不同族群的表演者,并邀请现场观众加入演出阵容,凑成一个200人的打击乐队,共同呈献气势磅礴、振奋人心的鼓舞狮城鼓乐节目,充分体现了新加坡各族人民万众一心,携手共创包容社会的信念。

 





由不同民族的表演者以及现场观众组成的乐队呈献声势浩大的“鼓舞狮城”,成为全场瞩目的表演

 

现场也设置了精华版的落地生根,开拓新家园展览,展示开埠先贤南下落地生根的旅程,让公众对我国历史有更深一层的了解。

 


杨莉明部长(左二)在华族文化中心主席兼宗乡总会名誉会长蔡天宝(左一)以及宗乡总会会长陈奕福(右一)的陪同下参观精华版“落地生根,开拓新家园”展览,右二为导览员林美美

 

嘉年华的招牌项目--旱龙舟竞技比赛也获得各民族的踊跃参与,约20支来自宗乡团体和民间组织的参赛队伍一同角逐冠军荣衔,紧张刺激的赛事让现场热火朝天、欢呼声不断!比赛最终由狮城乐善义工团夺得冠军,亚军由永春会馆获得,以及李氏总会赢得季军。

 


参赛者们卯足全力冲向终点。



狮城乐善义工团勇夺旱龙舟竞技比赛冠军,队员从大巴窑中民众俱乐部管理委员会主席李树彬(前排左一)手中接过奖杯



永春会馆荣获亚军后,队员一同分享喜悦



旱龙舟竞技比赛季军由李氏总会获得

 

多年来,这项深受喜爱的项目广获好评,也吸引不少孩童跃跃欲试,主办单位便以此为基础,增设了儿童趣味旱龙舟比赛,让孩子们坐上充气龙舟进行比赛,鼓励他们透过玩乐学习团结合作的精神,加深他们对传统文化的了解。

杨莉明部长为“儿童趣味旱龙舟比赛”鸣笛开赛

 

主办单位也将科技元素融入嘉年华中,研发端午手机游戏、推行趣味实时图片分享等,为传统节日增添趣味及互动性,借此吸引年轻人来认识传统文化。其他精彩的节目如传统美食展销、全国中小学美术现场比赛等,同样获得了公众的热烈响应,现场人潮不断,热闹非凡。

返回页顶