Singapore Society Series - "My Singapore Memories" Seminar

Print
Email

"My Singapore Memories" - Mio Sato Shares Her Story As a New Immigrant

Organised by Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations' Social Affairs Committee, the Singapore Society Series - "My Singapore Memories" Seminar was held on 24th August. Married to a Singaporean, the guest speaker, Mio Sato, shared with the over 100 participants her very own Singapore story. Prior to settling down in Singapore, she lived in Japan and studied in Korea as well as China.

The seminar attracted over 100 participants.


Having lived in different cities, Mio Sato shared her sentiments on eventually settling down in Singapore with her Singaporean husband

Mio Sato was born in Tokyo, Japan, and has studied in Korea and China. She graduated from Waseda University and Peking University with a Bachelor's and a Master's degree respectively. Such unique life experience has shaped her to be a multilingual speaker who is conversant in Chinese, English, Japanese and Korean.

During her time in China's Peking University, Mio Sato met her Singaporean husband. It was after graduation when both of them discussed if they should continue living in China or to move to Japan. After much deliberation, Mio Sato decided to move back to Singapore with her husband.


Mio Sato shared with the participants that because Singapore is a multi-cultural country, people are accepting and respectful, making integrating into Singapore a breeze. Currently, Mio Sato works in Singapore for a Japanese news agency as journalist and interpreter. As she regularly attends events organised by her church and is an active member in a local soccer team here, she is proud to say that she lives a meaningful and interesting life in Singapore. Mio Sato is passionate about singing, and has even participated in the second season of "Sing!China" Singapore auditions and was one of the top 12 contestants.

Having lived in Japan, Korea and China, Mio Sato shared that adapting to living in Singapore was the toughest. It is summer all year round in Singapore, and she was unable to keep up with the pace of how the government introduces new policies and laws every now and then. However, she mentioned that Singapore offers a suite of suitable living conditions, especially the public transport which makes commuting so convenient, and the education system which emphasizes the development of logical thinking - this is something which she felt many countries ought to learn from Singapore. 

At the end of the seminar, Mio Sato serenaded everyone by singing Teresa Teng's "I Only Care About You (我只在乎你)"


SFCCA's Social Affairs Committee's Chairman Mr Zhou Zhao Cheng (left) presenting a token of appreciation to Mio Sato (right)

Back to top

新移民与新加坡社会系列讲座之 "我的新加坡情缘"

打印
轉寄好友

与新加坡结下的不解情缘!狮城日本媳妇佐藤澪分享新移民生活

由宗乡总会社会事务委员会主办的新移民与新加坡社会系列讲座之"我的新加坡情缘" 已于8月24日举行,这次讲座邀请了来自日本的新加坡媳妇佐藤澪女士分享她扎根狮城的故事,并吸引了100多人出席。

"我的新加坡情缘" 讲座吸引了100多人出席


曾生活在不同城市的佐藤澪,对于定居在新加坡有不一样的见解

佐藤澪出生于日本东京,曾留学于韩国与中国,并且获得了日本早稻田大学学士学位和北京大学硕士学位,这些独特的经历使她精通中、英、日、韩四种语言。

她在北京大学修读国际关系时认识了新加坡籍的丈夫。毕业后,两人曾考虑过在日本或中国落地生根,但经过一番深思熟虑后,佐藤澪选择了跟随丈夫回到新加坡生活。

佐藤澪表示,由于新加坡是一个多元社会,人们能够包容与尊重多种文化,因此要融入本地并不困难。目前,她在本地一家日本通信社担任记者和翻译员,她也经常出席教会的活动,同时也是足球队里的活跃成员,这些社交经历使她在新加坡的生活多姿多彩。佐藤澪的兴趣是唱歌,曾参与第二季“中国新歌声”新加坡海选,并且成功晋级12强。

曾在日本、韩国和中国生活的佐藤澪表示,来到新加坡后最不习惯的,是常年闷热的天气,且她也认为政府的制度经常更新,让她觉得有些跟不上步伐。虽然如此,佐藤澪依然觉得新加坡是非常适合居住的城市,尤其这里的交通十分方便,而且教育制度也很好,其培养逻辑思考的教育方式是值得许多国家学习的地方。

讲座的尾声, 佐藤澪特别演唱了邓丽君的 "我只在乎你" 一曲,一展好歌喉。


宗乡总会社会事务委员会主任周兆呈(左)颁发感谢奖状予佐藤澪(右)

返回页顶