Unsung Heroes Series: "Builders of Singapore" Heritage Trail - Samsui Women

Print
Email

To commemorate Singapore's bicentennial, the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) has launched the "Builders of Singapore" heritage trail series which will take participants on trails built by unsung heroes during the 19th and 20th century and to promote a renewed appreciation and understanding of the builders of Singapore back in the olden days.

Following the first trail which focused on the contributions of the Indian labourers, the second "Builders of Singapore" heritage trail will be happening on 12th October. Participants can look forward to embarking on a trail in the Singapore River and Chinatown vicinity, to admire the iconic monuments and infrastructure built by the Samsui Women. These monuments and infrastructure include the National Gallery (former Supreme Court), Bank of China Building, The Arts House (Old Parliament House), Asian Civilisations Museum. Participants will also catch a glimpse of the Singapore streets where the Samsui Women used to live - Nankin Street, Chin Chew Street and Pagoda Street. Through this specially curated trail, participants will be able to rediscover the contributions of these unsung heroes during Singapore's nation building.

Event Details:
Date: 12th October 2019 (Saturday)
Meeting Time: 8:30am
Meeting Venue: Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations 
Trail Location: Singapore River and Chinatown
Programme: 8:30am Registration @ SFCCA
                      9:30am Bus leaves SFCCA
                                   Commencement of trail (choice of English or Chinese speaking guide)
                                   Lunch
                      1:00pm End of trail @ Chinatown (kindly indicate if a return bus trip is required)
Attire:Casual
Fee:$5 per pax for clan members(original price: $10) 
Note:Please put on comfortable footwear, prepare an umbrella and apply sunscreen as the trail involves a fair bit of walking.


Limited slots available, so do register fast! To register, please complete the form at http://bit.do/heritagetrail and submit to the SFCCA Secretariat either (1) a screenshot of successful PayNow fund transfer to UEN number S85SS0109H or (2) cheque (payee: Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations) before 1st October 2019. Should you have any queries or require any further information, please contact Ms Jazmyn Huang at 66436749 or jazmynhuang@sfcca.sg.

Back to top

无名英雄系列之 "新加坡建设者" 文化之旅 — 红头巾

打印
轉寄好友

配合我国开埠两百年,宗乡总会主办的“新加坡文化之旅”今年特以“新加坡建设者”为题,带领公众走访本地19至20世纪的标志性建筑与文化地标,了解建筑背后的建设者故事,借此向这些无私奉献的先驱者致敬,鼓励年轻国人学习先辈的精神。

继首场活动介绍印度劳工的贡献后,第二场“新加坡建设者”文化之旅将于10月12日举行,带领公众走访新加坡河和牛车水一带,透过参观红头巾建造的建筑,如: 国家美术馆(前高等法院)、中国银行、艺术之家(前国家大厦)、亚洲文明博物馆等,以及红头巾聚居的南京街、珍珠街、宝塔街,让参与者重新认识和了解建设我们美丽家园的无名英雄。

活动详情如下:
日期:10月12日(星期六)
集合时间:上午8时30分
集合地点:宗乡总会1楼礼堂
参观地点:新加坡河及牛车水
流程:上午8时30分 登记报到
                9时30分 从宗乡总会乘巴士出发
                             开始参观行程(备有中英双语导览,任选其一)
                            午餐
          下午1时00分 活动于牛车水解散 (如需回程巴士服务,请在回执表格注明)
服装:整齐便装
收费:会员特价每人5元(原价10元)
注意事项:活动多半以步行的方式进行,请穿舒适的步行鞋,以及自备雨伞并做好防晒。

谨此呼吁踊跃参与,名额有限,报名从速。有意者请到 http://bit.do/heritagetrail 报名,附上PayNow 转账截图(单一机构识别号码UEN: S85SS0109H) 或支票 (支票抬头请注: Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations),于10月1日或之前寄交宗乡总会秘书处。如有任何疑问,欢迎联络黄丹凤 (电话: 66436749 或电邮: jazmynhuang@sfcca.sg)。

返回页顶