Unsung Heroes Series: "Builders of Singapore" Heritage Trail - Samsui Women

Print
Email

To commemorate Singapore's Bicentennial, Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) launched the "Builders of Singapore" heritage trail series which has since taken participants on trails built by unsung heroes during the 19th and 20th century and to promote a renewed appreciation and understanding of the builders of Singapore back in the olden days.

Following the first trail which focused on the contributions of the Indian labourers, the second trail of the "Builders of Singapore" heritage trail series took place on 12th October 2019. A total of 110 participants embarked on the trail along Singapore River and in the Chinatown vicinity, to admire the iconic monuments and infrastructure built by the Samsui Women. 

Samsui Women were also known as "hong tou jin" (Mandarin for "red headscarf"). They immigrated from the Sanshui district of the Canton province of China, to Nanyang (what Singapore was known as) to seek a living. Many of them landed jobs as general labourers in the building and construction industry, making significant contributions to the Singapore landscape. Their trademark feature was the red headscarf and dark blue/ black samfu which comprised a set of blouse and trousers. The dark colours prevented the Samsui Women's clothes from being stained easily. Their "sandals" were made out of pieces of rubber cut out from used tyres.

There were English and Mandarin speaking guides to introduce to the participants more about the buildings which the Samsui Women were involved in constructing - National Gallery (former Supreme Court), Bank Of China Building, the former Asia Insurance Building (Ascott Raffles Place today). Along the route, the guides and participants also visited attractions like the Arts House (Singapore's first Parliament House), Asian Civilisation Museum, and the streets where Samsui Women used to live in - Nankin, Pearl (Chin Chew) and Pagoda Streets in Chinatown.


Our first stop was the National Gallery (former Supreme Court), constructed by the Samsui Women. Participants listened attentively to the guides who provided them with the history of Supreme Court. 



Bank of China Building has a long history since the 1950s. With its 17-storey tall building, it was then the tallest building in the Central Business District of Singapore. The pair of lions guarding the entrance is a work by Italian sculptor Rudolfo Nolli.


The Bank of China Building today not only provides banking services to its clients, but also houses a history gallery depicting the bank's 80-year journey in Singapore.


Also painstakingly built by the Samsui Women is the former Asia Insurance Building. It was officially opened by Sir Robert Brown Black, Governor of Singapore, on 10th December 1955. The preserved plaque remains at the main entrance.


Participants crossed the Cavenagh Bridge which was constructed in 1869, and will soon be gazetted as a national monument



Fuk Tak Chi, a former Tua Pek Kong temple of over a hundred years of history, was converted to a museum in 1998. There is a model which showcases the temple's surroundings in the 19th century.


In a typical Samsui Woman's outfit, one of the guides animatedly described the Samsui Women's working conditions



For more photos, please visit SFCCA's Facebook page:  FB.com/pg/SG.SFCCA/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2707356862617001

Back to top

无名英雄系列之"新加坡建设者"文化之旅 - 红头巾

打印
轉寄好友

宗乡总会“新加坡建设者”文化之旅带领百人探索红头巾建设的文化地标

配合我国开埠两百周年,宗乡总会举办的“新加坡文化之旅”今年特以“新加坡建设者”为题,带领公众走访本地19至20世纪的标志性建筑与文化地标,了解建筑背后的建设者故事,借此向这些无私奉献的先贤致敬,鼓励年轻国人学习先辈的精神。

继首场活动介绍印度劳工的贡献后,第二场“新加坡建设者”文化之旅已于10月12日举行,率领110名公众走访新加坡河和牛车水一带,参观红头巾建造的建筑。

红头巾俗称“三水婆”,主要是中国广东三水县籍妇女。上世纪初,她们漂洋过海来到南洋谋生,大多进入建筑行业,用扁担跳着畚箕搬运沙石、水泥和砖块,为新加坡的早期建筑贡献良多。她们在工作时身穿蓝衣黑裤,脚穿以旧轮胎制成的胶屐,头戴用红布折成的方帽,“红头巾”因此而得名。

导览员以中英双语作导览,介绍了由红头巾建造的建筑,包括国家美术馆(前高等法院)、中国银行大厦、前亚洲保险大厦,以及附近的景点如:艺术之家(前国会大厦)、亚洲文明博物馆等,以及红头巾聚居的南京街、珍珠街、宝塔街等。


前身为高等法院的国家美术馆外由红头巾建造,参与者在参观的过程中听导览员讲解这栋建筑的历史


中国银行大厦历史悠久,50年代建立时以17层楼之姿成为当时著名的高楼和地标性建筑,门前的两座石狮子更成为了这栋大厦的标志


如今中国银行大厦里设有历史长廊,让民众更了解中国银行新加坡分行这80年来的历史足迹


同样由红头巾一砖一瓦建造的前亚洲保险大厦,是战后的建筑遗产,如今门前的柱子上依然保留了大厦开幕时的纪念石碑


文化之旅也路径位于新加坡河上历史悠久的加文纳桥



已有百年历史的海唇福德祠,在以前是一座靠海的大伯公庙,如今已成为一间博物馆,里面摆设了一座模型重现早年景象


活动结束前,导览员以一身红头巾的穿着,为出席者阐述早期红头巾的工作情况,让人留下深刻的印象



活动照片: FB.com/pg/SG.SFCCA/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2707356862617001

返回页顶