President Halimah Yacob's Visit to SFCCA

Print
Email

During her visit to the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) on 19th December 2019, President Halimah Yacob recognised the efforts of SFCCA in promoting Chinese culture and values.


President Halimah (front row, third from the right) with the SFCCA Council Members

With the company of the President of SFCCA, Mr Tan Aik Hock, she visited "Singapore Chinese: Then and Now" —a gallery that reflects the process of how our overseas Chinese ancestors had settled down in Singapore—to gain a deeper understanding of how the Singaporean Chinese society has changed over the past century. Following this, President Halimah interacted with the Council of SFCCA to ask about future developments of the Chinese society.


President of SFCCA, Mr Tan Aik Hock, (first from the right) and Council Members visiting the "Singapore Chinese: Then and Now" gallery together with President Halimah (second from the right)


President Halimah conversing with the leaders of clan associations about their plans for the development of the Chinese society

President Halimah said, "Clan associations play a pivotal role in the passing down of traditional Chinese culture and the strengthening of our social fabric. Similarly, the contributions of SFCCA in these aspects are as clear as day. Additionally, SFCCA has maintained close relations with other social organisations which is vital to the maintenance of a harmonious multi-racial and multi-cultural society.”

President Halimah thinks that the main challenge faced by SFCCA in this new era is finding ways to attract youths to join their ranks and groom successors. She suggests utilising social media platforms to engage youths or hosting a variety of programmes suited to youths' interest to encourage them to join the Chinese society. On top of this, SFCCA has a duty to lead its members by encouraging them to make necessary changes in order to keep pace with the times.

President Halimah had been invited as the Guest of Honour in previous activities organised by SFCCA, such as Duan Wu Carnival 2018 and Spring Reception 2019. This is her first time visiting SFCCA as the President of Singapore.

Established in 1985, Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations is the apex body of the Chinese clan associations in Singapore, with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong named as our first Patron in 2011. The Federation's primary objectives are to promote understanding and appreciation of Chinese language, culture and values; to lead the Chinese clan associations in Singapore, as well as, organise and support educational, cultural and community activities. The Federation now boasts a membership of over 230 clan and cultural bodies.



Photos:   FB.com/pg/SG.SFCCA/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2855714814447871

Read more:

Back to top

哈莉玛总统到访宗乡总会

打印
轉寄好友

宗乡总会推广华族文化与价值观获哈莉玛总统肯定

哈莉玛总统于2019年12月19日到访新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会时,对宗乡总会在推广华族文化与价值观方面所作出的努力给予了肯定。


哈莉玛总统(前排右三)到访宗乡总会,与理事暨执委合影留念

哈莉玛总统在宗乡总会会长陈奕福的陪同下,走访了名为“光阴的故事”历史走廊,回顾华裔先辈在本地落地生根的过程,对新加坡华社的百年变迁有了更进一步的了解。随后,哈莉玛总统也和宗乡总会的理事暨执委进行了交流,从中关心华社事务发展。


宗乡总会会长陈奕福(右一)与理事带领哈莉玛总统(右二)一览“光阴的故事”历史走廊


哈莉玛总统与各会馆领导相谈甚欢,了解华社未来计划

哈莉玛总统在交流结束时表示,宗乡团体在传承华族传统文化及增进社会凝聚力中扮演着重要的角色,而宗乡总会在这方面的努力有目共睹,也与其他社区团体保持紧密联系,这对我国多元种族及文化的社会发挥了重要的作用。

哈莉玛总统认为,随着时代改变,如今宗乡会馆所面临的挑战是如何吸引年轻人参与华社事务,以及培养接班人。她建议可通过社交媒体平台接触年轻人,或举办适合他们参与的各种项目,让年轻一代走进华社,而宗乡总会有义务带领会员团体与时俱进,作出适时的改变。

在宗乡总会过去的活动里,哈莉玛总统曾受邀担任“2018年端午节嘉年华”以及“2019年己亥年新春团拜”的主宾,此行是她首次以总统的身份到访宗乡总会。

新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会于1985年注册成立, 是我国华人宗乡会馆的最高领导机构,并于2011年荣邀李显龙总理担任首位赞助人。自成立以来,总会一直肩负着带动华人社会、推展华族文化事业、发扬华族优良传统的神圣使命。宗乡总会目前有逾230个会员团体。



照片:   FB.com/pg/SG.SFCCA/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2855714814447871

相关报道:

返回页顶